Munagaku Talimpu / Stir fried drumstick leaves


As a child I hated greens…. Was forced, bribed and what not by the granny and the mom to no avail!

Even till recently I used to crinkle my nose and make a face at the sight of greens. The other day the husband’s aunt made this munagaku talimpu / stir fried drumstick leaves… And I almost ate half the bowl she made…

So there started my love affair with greens… I have started tasting and experimenting with all kind of greens…

So here goes my version of the Munagaku Talimpu.

  1. 3 cups drumstick leaves ( pluck the leaves from stems and wash thoroughly )
  2. 1 large onion thinly sliced
  3. 6 TBSP Lahsun chutney 
  4. Salt to taste
  5. ¼ tsp mustard seeds
  6. 1/8 tsp jeera seeds.
  7. 2 tsp oil

Heat oil in a pan, add the mustard and jeera seeds and let them splutter. Now add in the onions and fry till translucent. Add in the drumstick leaves and cook for 5 minutes, add salt and lahsun chutney, stir and take off heat. Serve with rice / roti.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Deesha says:

    I’ve never cooked with drumstick leaves .. Nice recipe Chandhana

  2. chandhana says:

    Thank you Deepthi! The drumstick leaves are yum!

  3. sam says:

    Thks for the recipe, can someone please help me find mungaku in Hyderabad? Is it available in Raitu bazar?

Leave a Reply

